Nampa School District forms committees for budget, new supt

Nampa School District forms committees for budget, new supt

NAMPA, Idaho (KBOI) - The Nampa School District says it has formed two committees to help find solutions to two issues it's facing.

The district says the first committee consists of sixteen people and is assigned to find ways to fix the district's $4.3 million budget shortfall that came from an accounting error.

That committee met for the first time Tuesday evening.

District spokeswoman Allison Westfall says one-time income payments like stimulus money and extra state funds were continued to be counted even after they had already been spent.

“Budgeting errors camouflaged that we actually had a deficit two years ago in our budget and so that wasn’t caught," says Westall. "So we spent to the level we thought we had and we should have been making deeper cuts.”

District officials admit one of the biggest mistakes they made was not comparing their projected budgets with the actual budgets. | Nampa Schools Wants your Input

The committee will meet every Tuesday for the next several weeks before giving their recommendations to the board in November and December.

The district will also accept ideas from the general public on how to fix the shortfall.

People who would like to submit their ideas should visit the Nampa School District website.

Also, a second ten-person committee has been appointed to find a replacement for former superintendent Gary Larsen, who resigned in September.

Larsen submitted his resignation to the board of trustees after the budgeting error was realized.

The school district says the Superintendent Search Committee will find both an interim replacement for the current school year, and a permanent one who will start next fall.

The district listed the following people, along with their bios, as members of the committee, in a press release:

Laurie Boeckel  – Boeckel  is a long-time child advocate at local, state, and national levels. Currently, she is a leader with the Idaho Parent Teacher Association serving as its Legislative Vice President and member of its Board of Directors and Legislative Committee. Boeckel has two children, one a graduate of Nampa schools and the other currently attending high school in the district. Richard Hagood – Hagood is President Emeritus of Northwest Nazarene University.  Hagood retired in 2008 after  15 years of service as the Chief Executive Officer and an additional eight years as Vice President for University Advancement.  During his tenure at NNU, President Hagood led the development of the NNU Foundation, the transition to university status, the transformation of the campus physical plant and the expansion of academic programs in graduate studies and professional development. Shannon Hotchkiss  –  Hotchkiss began teaching in the Nampa School District in 1989 as an elementary music specialist at Eastside Elementary School.  After three years she left the district to teach in the private sector and open a musical preschool.  She has also owned and operated both online and storefront businesses.  She is currently in her fifth year at Reagan Elementary School teaching music, and is the past Nampa Education Association Secretary. Pete  Koehler - Koehler is in his seventh year as principal of Nampa High School and the Chief Educational Officer of the Nampa cluster of schools (Nampa High, West Middle School, Lone Star Middle School, Centennial, Central, Franklin Roosevelt, and Willow Creek elementary schools). Previously, Koehler was the Principal of Central Elementary and has taught fifth and sixth grade. He entered the teaching profession through the Troops to Teachers program after retiring from the U.S. Army in 1996. Brian McGourty – Dr. McGourty is a long-time Nampa optometrist serving the community of 34 years. Dr. McGourty served on the Nampa Board of Trustees for nine years (1991 to 2000) including three years as its chairman. He led the 1993-94 search committee that recommended hiring Gary Larsen, who was the district’s superintendent for 18 years until resigning in September. Kristin Pancheri – Pancheri manages her family’s trucking and farming businesses. Prior to that, she was the assistant director of the Nampa Recreation Center for 15 years. She has four children, three attending district schools. Gregg Russell – Russell is in his third year as Principal of Ronald Reagan Elementary School. Prior to becoming a principal, he served the district for eight years as a building administrator and teacher at Snake River, Greenhurst, and Lincoln elementary schools.     
Dr. Al Sanchez – Dr. Sanchez is an Associate Professor at Northwest Nazarene University teaching in the Social Work Graduate Program. He has also taught sociology part time at Boise State University and at the College of Western Idaho. He has served on a number of community boards including Nampa Boys and Girls Club, Idaho Hispanic Caucus, Idaho Children’s Trust Fund, and Idaho Partnership for Hispanic Health. Ed Simmerman – Simmerman is the Human Resources Director for the City of Nampa, a position he has held since 2006. Prior to joining the city, he was the Human Resource Manager for Intermountain Gas Co. for 16 years.  He is involved in the Treasure Valley community including board membership for the Boise Opera and Idaho Shakespeare Festival. Stuart Vickers – Vickers is the Principal at South Middle School, a position he has held since 2004. Prior to that, he was the Dean of Students for four years and a teacher and coach for four years at the school.