Big East restructures football schedule after losing BSU, SDSU

Big East restructures football schedule after losing BSU, SDSU
FILE - This Aug. 30, 2012 file photo shows Big East commissioner Mike Aresco answering questions from the media before an NCAA college football game between Connecticut and Massachusetts at Rentschler Field in East Hartford, Conn. Aresco says there are no plans for the conference to change its name and negotiations are expected to start soon with ESPN on a new TV deal. Aresco made his first visit to Temple on Saturday, Sept. 8, 2012, to watch the Owls play Maryland. (AP Photo/Jessica Hill, File)
PROVIDENCE, R.I. (AP) — The Big East has released a revised 2013 schedule that will have each of its 10 football teams playing eight regular-season conference games.

The announcement Friday came after Boise State and San Diego State decided to remain in the Mountain West Conference. That scuttled the Big East's plan to split into two six-team divisions for football and hold a championship game.

The Big East will have newcomers Central Florida, Houston, Memphis and SMU join Louisville, Cincinnati, Rutgers, Connecticut, Temple and South Florida for football. Pittsburgh and Syracuse are leaving for the Atlantic Coast Conference.

With an eight-game conference schedule, each of the 10 teams will play all but one league opponent in 2013. Last year, the eight teams played everyone.

Dates for conference games will be announced later.