Broncos No. 19 in first USA Today coaches poll

Broncos No. 19 in first USA Today coaches poll »Play Video
Boise State football debuted at No. 19 in the preseason USA Today Coaches Poll, the fifth straight season the Broncos have appeared in the first poll of the year.

The Broncos also opened the season ranked No. 16 in 2009, No. 5 in 2010, No. 7 in 2011 and No. 22 in 2012.

Boise State was the only team from the Mountain West to be ranked in the preseason coaches poll.

No 2013 Bronco opponents were ranked in the top-25 by coaches, but Fresno State, BYU and Washington all received votes (see below).

USA Today Coaches Poll - Preseason (first-place votes)
1. Alabama (58) 1,545
2. Ohio St. (3) 1,427
3. Oregon 1,397
4. Stanford 1,262
5. Georgia 1,250
6. Texas A&M (1) 1,215
7. South Carolina 1,136
8. Clemson 1,047
9. Louisville 1,010
10. Florida 930
11. Notre Dame 872
12. Florida St. 844
13. LSU 797
14. Oklahoma St. 726
15. Texas 622
16. Oklahoma 620
17. Michigan 589
18. Nebraska 426
19. Boise St. 420
20. TCU 400
21. UCLA 202
22. Northwestern 186
23. Wisconsin 172
24. USC 165
25. Oregon St. 135

Others Receiving Votes
Kansas State (11-2) 113; Miami (Fla.) 101; Michigan State 89; Baylor 80; Virginia Tech 65; Fresno State 62; Arizona State 51; Mississippi 32; Vanderbilt (9-4) 29; Utah State (11-2) 23; Brigham Young 20; North Carolina 19; Northern Illinois (12-2) 19; Tulsa (11-3) 9; Ohio 8; San Jose State (11-2) 8; Arizona 5; Cincinnati (10-3) 3; East Carolina 3; Kent State 3; Mississippi State 3; Washington 3; Central Florida 2; Arkansas 1; Arkansas State 1; Rutgers 1; Tennessee 1; Toledo 1.

The USA TODAY Sports Board of Coaches is made up of 62 head coaches at Bowl Subdivision schools. All are members of the American Football Coaches Association. The board for the 2013 season: David Bailiff, Rice; Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech; Tim Beckman, Illinois; Bret Bielema, Arkansas; Bill Blankenship, Tulsa; Terry Bowden, Akron; Art Briles, Baylor; Troy Calhoun, Air Force; Matt Campbell, Toledo; Rod Carey, Northern Illinois; Dave Christensen, Wyoming; Dave Clawson, Bowling Green; Larry Coker, Texas-San Antonio; David Cutcliffe, Duke; Mark Dantonio, Michigan State; Tim DeRuyter, Fresno State; Ron English, Eastern Michigan; Larry Fedora, North Carolina; Jimbo Fisher, Florida State; Kyle Flood, Rutgers; Dennis Franchione, Texas State; James Franklin, Vanderbilt; Al Golden, Miami (Fla.); Todd Graham, Arizona State; Jim Grobe, Wake Forest; Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State; Bryan Harsin, Arkansas State; Bobby Hauck, UNLV; Mark Helfrich, Oregon; Brady Hoke, Michigan; Dana Holgorsen, West Virginia; Doc Holliday, Marshall; Mark Hudspeth, Louisiana-Lafayette; Curtis Johnson, Tulane; Joey Jones, South Alabama; June Jones, Southern Methodist; Brian Kelly, Notre Dame; Jerry Kill, Minnesota; Kliff Kingsbury, Texas Tech; Mike Leach, Washington State; Rocky Long, San Diego State; Dan McCarney, North Texas; Bronco Mendenhall, Brigham Young; Urban Meyer, Ohio State; Les Miles, LSU; Ken Niumatalolo, Navy; George OLeary, Central Florida; Bo Pelini, Nebraska; Chris Petersen, Boise State; Mark Richt, Georgia; Mike Riley, Oregon State; Rich Rodriguez, Arizona; Nick Saban, Alabama; Steve Spurrier, South Carolina; Rick Stockstill, Middle Tennessee; Bob Stoops, Oklahoma; Charlie Strong, Louisville; Dabo Swinney, Clemson; Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M; Don Treadwell, Miami (Ohio); Tommy Tuberville, Cincinnati; Kyle Whittingham, Utah. AFCA policy bars schools under major NCAA or conference sanctions from receiving votes.