Steelies extend offers to eight

Steelies extend offers to eight
Idaho takes a 1-0 series lead against Colorado in the ECHL Playoffs.
Boise, ID (7/1/14) – Head Coach and Director of Hockey Operations Brad Ralph, in conjunction with the ECHL, announced Tuesday that the Idaho Steelheads have issued qualifying offers to eight players for the 2014-15 season.

The players – F Gaelan Patterson, F Jason Bast, F Brett Robinson, F David deKastrozza, F Tommy Grant, F Anthony Nigro, D Eamonn McDermott, G Tyler Beskorowany

Players who had already signed a contract by June 30 did not need to receive a qualifying offer.

Each team was entitled to reserve the rights to a maximum of eight qualified players. Of the eight qualified players, no more than four could be veterans (260 regular season professional hockey games played as of the start of the upcoming 2014-15 season). Players on open qualifying offers cannot be traded.

The qualifying offer must remain open for acceptance until Aug. 1 at which time the qualifying offer becomes null and void and the team may sign the qualified player to any salary or may elect to take no further action. Teams that extend a valid qualifying offer to a non-veteran player shall retain the rights to that qualified player for one playing season.

Idaho opens the regular season on the road on Friday, October 17, at Utah with the home opener coming the following night (Saturday, October 18) at CenturyLink Arena.